Cathy’s Reading List

As with all fans of crime detection fiction Cathy reads – a LOT!

In case you’re interested, Cathy lists below some of her favourite writers and TV programmes: this is by no means an exhaustive list and isn’t meant to imply that these writers/series are better than any she has not listed…..just that she has read them and enjoys them.

The categories she has listed might help you understand what to expect if you choose to hunt out the authors she mentions, and she is particularly fond of the recent publication “The Suspicions of Mr Whicher” by Kate Summerscale, which gives a great “insider” view of the early days of REAL crime detection.

Laura Lee Hope: the Bobbsey Twins series
Carolyn Keene: the Nancy Drew series
Franklin W Dixon: the Hardy Boys series
Victor Appleton II: the Tom Swift series
Agatha Christie: the Miss Marple novels
Agatha Christie: the later Tommy & Tuppence novels
Dorothy L Sayers: the Lord Peter Wimsey novels
Leslie Charteris: the Saint novels
Ralph McInerny: the Father Dowling Mysteries
Ralph McInerny: the Notre Dame Mysteries
Jessica Fletcher & Donald Bain: the Murder She Wrote series of books
Lee Goldberg: the Diagnosis Murder books
Val McDermid: Lindsay Gordon novels
Val McDermid: the Tony Hill novels
Ellis Peters: the Cadfael novels
Gillian Linscott: the Nell Bray novels
Tamar Myers: the Pennsylvania Dutch Mysteries
Jonathan Kellerman: the Alex Delaware novels
The Persuaders TV series
Hart to Hart TV series
Murder She Wrote TV series
Diagnosis Murder TV series
Jonathan Creek TV series
Georges Simenon: the Maigret novels
Ed McBain: the novels of the 87th Precinct
Elizabeth George: the Inspector Lynley novels
Colin Dexter: the Morse novels
Ruth Rendell: the Inspector Wexford novels
Dorothy Simpson: the Inspector Thanet novels
Ngaio Marsh: Inspector Alleyn novels
RD Wingfield: the Inspector Frost novels
WJ Burley: the Wycliffe novels
PD James: the Adam Dalgleish novels
Anne Perry: the Inspector Monk novels
Anne Perry: the Thomas Pitt novels
Kathy Reichs: the Temperance Brennan novels
Patricia Cornwell: the Kay Scarpetta novels
Jeff Lindsay: Darkly Dreaming Dexter
Nora Roberts writing as JD Robb: the Lt Eve Dallas novels
Tony Hillerman: Joe Leaphorn novels
Aimee & David Thurlo: Ella Clah Novels
Margaret Coel: the Wind River Arapaho novels
Peter Robinson: Detective Alan Banks novels
Nevada Barr: the Anna Pigeon novels
Henning Mankell: the Kurt Wallander books
Ian Rankin: the Rebus novels
Louise Penny: the Chief Inspector Gamache novels
Dragnet TV series
Dixon of Dock Green TV series
Hawaii 5 O TV series
Streets of San Francisco TV series
MacMillan & Wife TV series
Nash Bridges TV series
Miami Vice TV series
Starsky & Hutch TV series
McCloud TV series
Kojak TV series
Columbo TV series
Due South TV series
Frost TV series (books by RD Wingfield)
Prime Suspect TV series
Police Woman TV series
Cagney & Lacey TV series
Hill Street Blues TV series
NYPD Blue TV series
Wallander TV series
Lewis TV series (spin off from Morse)
Erle Stanley Gardner: the Perry Mason novels
Erle Stanley Gardner: the DA Doug Selby novels
John Mortimer: the Rumpole of the Bailey series – mainly collections of short stories
Ellery Queen
John Grisham
Scott Turow
William Bernhardt
Steve Martini
Perri O’Shaughnessy
Phillip Margolin
David Baldacci
Stuart Woods
Richard North Patterson
Lisa Scottline
Petrocelli TV series
Matlock TV series
Kavenagh QC Tv series
Judge John Deed TV series
LA Law TV series
Murder One TV series
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle: the Sherlock Holmes stories and novels
Agatha Christie: the Poirot novels
Agatha Christie: the Tommy & Tuppence early novels
Rex Stout: the Nero Wolfe novels
Dashiel Hammet: creator of Sam Spade
Raymond Chandler: creator of Phillip Marlowe
Earl Derr Biggers: the Charlie Chan books
Mickey Spillane: creator of Mike Hammer
Ross MacDonald (also wrote as John MacDonald and John Ross MacDonald – real name Kenneth Millar): the Lew Archer novels
John D MacDonald: the Travis McGee novels
Erle Stanley Gardner writing as AA Fair: the Bertha Cool and Donald Lam novels
Robert B Parker: the Spenser novels
Sue Grafton: the Kinsey Milhone novels
Val McDermid: the Kate Brannigan novels
Sara Paretsky: the VI Warshawski novels
Janet Evanovich: the Stephanie Plum novels
Lindsay Davis: the Marcus Didius Falco novels
Paul Johnston: the Quintillian Dalrymple novels
Alexander McCall Smith: the No 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency novels
Robert Crais: the Elvis Cole novels
77 Sunset Strip TV series
Hawaiian Eye TV series
Bourbon Street Beat TV series
Surfside Six TV series
Peter Gunn TV series
Mannix TV series
Barnaby Jones TV series
Cannon TV series
Rockford Files TV series
Spenser for Hire TV series
Vegas (Dan Tanner) TV series
Simon & Simon TV series
Remington Steel TV series
Moonlighting TV series
Monk TV series
Erskine Childers: The Riddle of the Sands
Joseph Conrad: The Secret Agent
John Buchan: the Richard Hannay novels
Eric Ambler: all novels
Alistair MacLean novels
Graham Greene: The Quiet American, Our Man in Havana, The Third Man
Len Deighton: the Harry Palmer novels
Len Deighton: the Bernard Samson novels
John Le Carre
Robert Ludlum
Tom Clancy
Ian Fleming
Charlie Higson: the Young Bond novels
The Avengers TV series
The Man From UNCLE TV series
Mission: Impossible TV series & movies
I-Spy TV series
Alias TV series
24 TV series
Secret Agent aka Danger Man TV series
The Prisoner TV series
Burn Notice TV series
Get Smart TV series
The Man in a Suitcase TV series
Spy Kids movies